Alexander Madzar – piano, Belgium/Serbia

Aleksandar Madzar is a Serbian pianist, who started playing the piano at the age of six under the guidance of Gordana Malinovic, and later studied with Arbo Valdma, Elisso Virsaladze and Daniel Blumenthal in Novi Sad, Belgrade, Moscow and Brussels. He won prizes in Geneva, Leeds, the „Feruccio Busoni” and „Umberto Micheli“ international competitions and gave his debut with the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra and Ivan Fischer in 1990. He has since then been performing regularly all over Europe, enjoying a rich and varied career in recital, concertos (with André Previn, Marcello Viotti, Paavo Järvi, Andris Nelsons) and chamber music, occasionally also touring North and South America, South Africa and the Far East and Australia. Madzar is a frequent guest of the Wigmore Hall in London, the Theatre de la Ville in Paris, the Brussels ‘Bozar’, the Amsterdam Concertgebouw, as well as the Conservatorio in Milan, the Delft, Lockenhaus, Peasmarsh and Juventus (Cambrai) summer festivals.  Aleksandar Madzar is currently working at the Royal Flemish Conservatoire in Brussels.   Program:   Joseph Haydn (1732-1809): Sonata in C Major, Hob. XVI/50
  1. Allegro
  2. Adagio
  3. Allegro molto
  Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)/Mikhail Pletnev (1957): 7 pieces from “The Nutcracker”
  1. March
  2. Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy
  3. Tarantella
  4. Intermezzo
  5. Trepak (Russian Dance)
  6. Tea (Chinese Dance)
  7. Pas de deux
  • interval –
  Johannes Brahms (1833-1897): Six pieces for piano, op. 118
  1. Intermezzo in A minor
  2. Intermezzo in A major
  3. Ballade in G minor
  4. Intermezzo in F minor
  5. Romanze in F major
  6. Intermezzo in E-flat minor
  Frédéric Chopin (1810-1849): Andante spianato et Grande polonaise brillante, op. 22